Turning of the Week
Newest Challenge

Have you checked out the
Gallery yet? Our members have posted some of their very best work for you to see – all in one convenient location!

The Burns Finish

hughie mackay

The Burns Finish

Postby hughie mackay » Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:40 am

I have been using Keith Burns 10min finish for several months. It is what he says it is, fast, effective and easy. But, the supplier I used has now gone out of business. Mainly because local finish suppliers have copied the WOP and a few other from Minwax and under cut him. But not Antique Oil, grrrgh!
Minwax has a presence here but very minimal and their website has been promising for months to list suppliers. Meanwhile, my tin of AO is slowly being used up. I have looked at buying direct from the US. But with the exchange rate and shipping, it puts the little red can way over $40 for each one, a tad expensive methinks.

So would anybody venture their thoughts on the recipe for AO. I did find a site that had an or the recipe for it. But that was before my supplier disappeared and of course, I did not keep the site or save it anywhere.
Hughie Mackay

'never worry about life cos' your not gonna get out of it alive'

https://www.facebook.com/TheWoodenPotter

Curt Fuller

Re: The Burns Finish

Postby Curt Fuller » Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:09 pm

Hughie, I hope Keith will chime in here. But he's been pretty scarce on the woodturning forums online for a while, along with facebook. I think all is well but he's been traveling and celebrating 50 years of marriage.